Arequipa is the capital and largest city of the Arequipa Region in Peru.  The city was founded on August 15, 1540 by Garcí Manuel de Carbajal as 'Villa Hermosa de Nuestra Señora de la Asunción".  The historic center of Arequipa is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.  Arequipa is a home to Santa Catalina Monastery which was built in 1579, predominantly in the Mudejar style with its vividly painted walls. With all its colors this monastery is a real paradise for a photographer